Posted by: sforshner | October 30, 2008

recession-proof your fancy meals

Just when I thought I had nothing to write in my Thursday food post, an article by Rebecca Ruiz on Forbes.com jumped out at me from my google reader: Ways to Dine Well During a Downturn.

From exploring how the newest trends, such as gourmet street food, can save you a buck, to choosing ways to dine well at home and knowing when to splurge wisely, Rebecca taps the experts…

For families that are looking to get more value for their dollar, Josh Applestone, owner and butcher of Fleisher’s Meats in Kingston, N.Y. at times recommends a grass-fed five-pound eye-round or an eight-pound, bone-in Berkshire pork shoulder at $7.99 per pound, as they are far less expensive than other premium cuts. They are also great for leftovers.

James Oseland, editor-in-chief of the Saveur says, “For me, the economic crunch equals, ‘Wow, I’ve got to get cooking at home,’ ” he says, “and experience the great sensory pleasures of cooking at home and eating at home.”

James also says that home chefs should have on hand essential staples that they’ll be able to “transform into all sorts of satisfying dishes.”

© Shutterstock

[Courtesy of Forbes.com]

Amanda Kludt, editor of the Web site Eater.com, says that “while Michelin-starred restaurants like Le Bernardin or Jean-Georges aren’t likely to start slashing prices anytime soon, some fine-dining establishments are offering recession specials.”

Responses

  1. wow, I actually had to eat home for the first time ever yesterday. It bummed me out and reminded me of all the money I’m not getting from my mutual funds. Le sigh.

  2. seriously after reading that article on good street food, all I want now is some delicious chinese dim sum, some carnitas, or a tamale….i’d give anything for one of those trucks to be waiting outside my office when i get off work….

  3. I recession proof my fancy meals by not HAVING fancy meals :)

    I’m pretty simple in what I like to eat. I like good food but sometimes restaurants get too fancy. Simple is good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

