Posted by: sforshner | February 6, 2008

tracing the steps in the green movement…

When I lived in Cork, Ireland the Spring of 2004, among the many unexpected bits of culture shock I first experienced was the time I had to pay for a plastic bag in the check out line at Tesco.

In 2002 Ireland implemented a tax on plastic bags and it did more than dramatically reduce the useage of bags, it made them socially unacceptable. Blogging about this already today made me reminisce about the times Lisa and I made that long walk from our apartment…

cork-apartment.jpg

…along the Cork/Bishopstown line…

cork-walking.jpg

…past a chaotic roubdabout…

cork-roundabout.jpg

…to pick up our liters of cider and groceries. It also reminded me of the fact that I owned a non-digital camera circa 1982.

But the good thing is, we were experiencing what would become the forefront of a particular trend in 2008, when outlets such as the New York Times and Inhabitat would highlight Ireland as an example, a case study perhaps, for how all countries can choose to become more environmentally friendly.

As The Independent published this week that there is a continent-sized vortex of plastic waste circling the Pacific, what better time to cease the use of plastic bags?

Responses

  1. As a brand new resident of Ireland, I sympathize with your plight. The first time I went to EuroSpar to get the necessities with no bag and was told I had to cough up 22 cent just to get one, the look on my face must have been sheer bewilderment or confusion because the cashier gave me the bag for free and said nothing more. I think I left the store with my mouth hanging open and have since vowed to never be without a bag again. I love you, Ireland.


Leave a Reply

Categories

