Posted by: sforshner | March 16, 2008

just one ticket, please

Last week I went to the movies alone on a Saturday night. Almost all of my friends had seen Juno and I decided it was time to stop putting it off. While waiting in line for the automated ticket machine, I was cut in line by a couple of giggling mothers with coach bags. I don’t think they meant to cut me. At 5’0, I either wasn’t in their line of sight or the fact that I was alone made it seem like I was waiting for someone and not a ticket. The situation made me so insecure that I put my debit card into the machine backwards. When I assumed it was rejected, I fumbled for my credit card and added to a balance I swore I wouldn’t touch for some time.

I entered the theatre with confidence though, and I planted myself in a semi-empty row – the last one. For a few minutes I thought I would get through the previews without a strange look, but then an entire group approached me and asked if someone was sitting in the seat next to mine. I said “no, I can just move over here” and as the group quickly filled every seat except the handicapped one, my insecurity held me back from trying to find a single seat toward the front. So I illegally sat and hoped security wouldn’t notice.

They didn’t and the movie was great. When it was over I peeled out of my seat and walked swiftly out the door so that the people next to me wouldn’t catch my face in the light. As I walked through the parking lot to my car I felt invigorated. I can’t say that I am proud that something as simple as going to the movies alone would become such a fiasco, but I am glad I did it.

I have always thought that traveling somewhere alone would be cool. Last summer I even contemplated taking a weekend at a bed & breakfast in Maine to clear my head, but my life became too busy and it turned into more of an afterthought than a reality.

It has recently come to my attention that traveling solo is a bit of a trend. According to a recent article in USA Today, the “surge in people traveling without partners has companies making accommodations for them in a number of ways.” I have yet to travel solo, and though my trip to the movies began boldy, but then transformed into an awkward experience, I think it was good practice.

I didn’t realize there were so many resources for solo travelers and I think it is such a cool concept. In addition to the great sites to which I have been recently introduced, I looked into some other resources:

Wanderlust and Lipstick

Boldy Go Solo

Connecting: Solo Travel News

Women’s Travel Tips

Solo Travel

Hopefully a future post will track one of my own solo travels.

Responses

  1. I would have gladly gone to the movies with you!! At one time, pre-marriage and pre-children, I went to the movies ALONE every Sunday afternoon. I loved it…no one asking, “what did she say?” or “why did he do that?”. I thoroughly recommend being comfortable being alone in public. It will serve you well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

