Posted by: sforshner | May 23, 2008

it’s time for a vacation

According to a recent survey by Expedia, as covered in ModernAgent, research saw a shift in attitudes toward taking time off among women and men. In 2007, men were more likely to feel guilty about taking time off from work (39 percent versus 30 percent of women). However, in 2008, women are more likely than men to feel guilty about taking time off from work (38 percent women versus 28 percent men), and men are more likely than women (16 percent versus 11 percent) to take a 2-week vacation. Complete survey results can be found here.

I fit into this trend nicely as I am on the brink of losing a vacation day because they do not rollover.

I talked to a reporter today who let me know that she just cannot plan meetings all the way out to the end of July. I told her that I understood and that even I try not to plan that far in advance. But you know what, looking over some recent personal emails, I just realized that I was fooling myself. The other day I pretty much created a calendar in my email and sent it to a good friend so that we could schedule a time to grab drinks over lunch because my craziness won’t allow me to waste the day that I very well could lose, without a set plan. She sent my mini calendar back with edits, I made a few more, sent it back and now I am just waiting for the final version. At that point, I will beg for that day to be rolled over.

But for those that act like normal people, and are beginning to shape the summer as it should be, with vacations, Ecofabulous has just unveiled their globetrotting guide. And for people like me, who need to create calendars on top of calendars to plan a day off let alone even think about how to travel eco-consciously, this guide compiles resources, guides, carbon offsets, their favorite destinations, travel accessories and essentials.

Since I have been trying to find an alternative to plastic water bottles myself lately, this one in particularly jumped out at me:

FOR THE THIRSTY TRAVELER

Sigg Depending on where you’re traveling and the quality of the water, ditch the plastic water bottles and strap on your Sigg or a Kleen Kanteen. Do your part to reduce the 30 million plastic water bottles Americans add to landfill every single day! If the water is questionable however, a travel water filter is your best bet and can have you easily sipping safe H2O from all corners of the globe.

Responses

  1. I recently decided to buy a reusable water bottle instead of the plastic ones I keep refilling even though I’m told that causes cancer!! Thank you for helping me find what I’m looking for!!!

  2. I just got a new nalgene too – Let me know if you buy this and how you like it!

  3. if you are not traveling on June 14th, you should definitely come to the 1st Annual Boston Blogger party (for fellow 20sb’s).. email me if you’d like the evite!

    and i totally think its a tossup between guys and girls feeling more guilty about taking vacation days. I get SO PSYCHED to take them, and my hubs finds it nerve-racking, thinking he’ll be missing out on something..

  4. […] and partly because I loved the colors and the design (can you tell I like blue)? A while back I blogged about the ecofabulous globetrotting guide and highlighted their tips for the thirsty traveler – and […]

  5. […] forget to take your vacation days In an effort to avoid the same predicament I faced earlier this year (I almost lost precious vacation time because I didn’t get around […]

  6. […] an effort to avoid the same predicament I faced earlier this year (I almost lost precious vacation time because I didn’t get around […]

  7. […] and partly because I loved the colors and the design (can you tell I like blue)? A while back I blogged about the ecofabulous globetrotting guide and highlighted their tips for the thirsty traveler – and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

