Posted by: sforshner | July 7, 2008

all over central square

Including last Saturday, the last two times I tried to go to The Garden at the Cellar on 991 Massachusetts Ave, between Central and Harvard Square, where almost all ingredients are from local farmer’s markets, it was closed because of private parties.

I have been there a few times and I love it. The attention to detail that is paid to every ounce of food in that place is so impressive. From the herbs in the butter to the spices on the fries (that I once got complimentary because a table was taking an obnoxiously long amount of time to clear – don’t even get me started on the great customer service).

So last Saturday I branched out and grabbed a drink to catch up with my friend Shannon, Boston’s up and coming improv superstar (you can find her at Improv Boston in Central Square), at The People’s Republic on 876-878 Massachusetts Avenue. Did you know that they charge 50 cents extra if you want catchup on a hot dog instead of mustard because, “only kids eat hot dogs with catchup” according to the bartender?

We didn’t eat there. We grabbed the most incredible grilled cheese sandwhich I have had in a while at The Field on 20 Prospect St. in Central Square – and it was reasonably priced.

I didn’t have a Guiness, but I thought this would be a cool picture.

Responses

  1. mmmm.. beer

    I don’t think i’ve been down to central square. I will have to check that area out!

  2. I’ve heard a couple of people recently say “you don’t put ketchup on hot dogs!” And I want to say, “who are you to dress up my wiener for me???” Granted, I usually use mustard and relish, but if I want ketchup, by God, GIVE ME THE KETCHUP! It’s comparable to the girl at Starbucks who didn’t want me to have the doughnut!

  3. I will definitely have to check this out. Thanks for the tip!

  4. slight correction..you KNOW the best grilled cheese sandwich of your life can be found here…

    http://www.grubla.com/menu/grubbysammies.html

    didn’t like LA…this sandwich-tomato soup combo changed my life

  5. Yeah you’re right- Grub in LA is way better


Leave a Reply

Categories

