Posted by: sforshner | July 28, 2008

closer to 30 than 20

That’s me – as of today, well technically yesterday the 28th.

Because I made a day trip to New York for work, I feel like the day didn’t really happen. Good thing I had some ice cream cake on Sunday, the kind with the rocks in between the chocolate and vanilla.

This is me practicing the ISO settings on my camera on the amtrak leaving NY.

I didn’t get internet connection on the train, which was frustrating. But in the end I think it was a good thing because I got to read the New Yorker cover to cover which is something I haven’t done in a really long time – and missed. What caught my eye as a plowed through the waves of people in Penn Station toward the magazine stand was Judith Thurman‘s new reading of Emily Dickinson. It was refreshing to read good, intellectual writing again.

After describing a poem about solitude, Judith concluded her article by seemingly intertwining the chronoligical events of Dickinson’s life, her poetry and her own take on it all. I included it here, because I think it resonates even beyond all that…


Becoming alone is the description of a task that none of us escape, and it is the drama that gives Dickinson’s poetry its suspense. She expresses that suspense in all the seemingly random and eccentric dashes in her work that Higginson corrected. (He always wanted to make things right.) But they were her cracks, cracks through which the wind slipped in, and those other disembodied visitors, her metaphors and intuitions, and through which she evaded the necessity of putting a period to their mystery—or to her own.

I’m not going to get that deep again, so I will just leave you with that.

I have a lot to catch up on. I was pretty much a tour guide this weekend because I had friends from Jersey visiting – will be blogging about that soon.

Responses

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! My next one is the “closer to 30 than 20” revelation…but I’ve got six whole months to adjust to the idea =)

  2. Oooh you’re old! I hope you had a good birthday. 🙂

  3. I can not WAIT to invest in a DLSR. I am sooooooooooo stoked to start playing with it.

  4. they say 30 is the new 20 so really ur just 18…..

  5. Thanks for the birthday wishes!

    And remember, I am 18 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

