Posted by: sforshner | July 29, 2008

lots of good travel ideas

After a busy weekend and a day spent entirely in New York with no internet, I have so much to catch up on in my google reader and emails. And while I have been at it, I came across an unusual amount of great tips/advice, so I thought I would just post some of them.

If you are looking for…

Last minute travel

The Geeky Traveller posted about Last Minute Travel, a site where you can find – you guessed it – last minute travel opportunities. They’ll find cheap airline tickets, cruises, hotel rooms, and full travel packages that are ready for you right away.

Long term travel

Michaela Lola on the Brave New Traveller offers 25 ways to earn money when you are broke on the road.

Travel deals

MSNBC posted a Budget Travel article that lists 5 U.S. girlfriend getaways starting at $230.0

Michelle Higgins lists a bunch of airlines that are actually decreasing their prices in the New York Times.

I was also recently recommended a site that helps you search for discount airlines – AirNinja.com. I have yet to plan my next flight, but will report back. I wouldn’t mind hearing from anyone who has tried it…

Food & Drink – you can turn these ones into a “staycation” if you are from Boston…

I just got a tip from emrlds that Pho Republique in the South End of Boston has the best mango margaritas ever.

I have a semi-related tip on this topic too. If you want to have the best mango-tini of your life, go to Laurel Grill & Bar on 142 Berkeley in the South End of Boston, make sure Eryl is working the bar, you won’t have to ask him to make it strong.

While we’re on the topic of food, and because I love wine, Richard P. Carpenter recently wrote in the Globe, some good tips for food-and-wine-oriented trips. He also reminded me of Boston Restaurant Week which is Aug. 10-15 and 17-22. More than 180 participating restaurants in Boston, Cambridge, and beyond will serve up three-course lunches for $20.08 and dinners for $33.08. The menus will also be featured in packages at the Hilton Boston Back Bay and Doubletree Guest Suites Boston. Included are an overnight stay and the Restaurant Week menu, both for two, starting at $326 a night.

For Restaurant Week information, visit bostonusa.com

Responses

  1. I love your blog so much, because it’s like Cliffnotes for the travel world! I’m often on the road so much that I don’t have time to keep abreast on the various travel news/columns (aside from Chris Elliott, Intelligent Travel and the Frugal Traveler), but you keep me in the know–thanks! =)

  2. […] buzz out on the web I recently got fantastic feedback that posting about some of the great travel deals/tips/ideas that I am already following out there on the web is actually useful. So here’s what I found […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

