Posted by: sforshner | August 12, 2008

disorganized travel

My jewelry lays strewn across a shelf in my room- every pair of earrings share one set of backs- they rotate, the chain of one of my necklaces somehow fell between the shelf and the wall and now I think it’s stuck forever and when I go to put on a necklace in the morning, I spend more time untangling them all than I do blow drying my hair. Okay, that last one was an exaggeration, but my jewelery situation is really a mess. And, it is worse when I travel.

When I went to California I wanted to avoid the aforementioned mishaps, so figured I would separate the long necklaces from the short, the dangley earrings from the rings, etc.

You know when you buy a shirt and you get a tiny bag with an extra button in it in case you lose one? I decided that utilizing all those little bags from all the shirts I bought was my best option. I prided myself for not having thrown them away, packed them up and then threw them into a larger toiletry bag.

It actually worked out pretty well, but seriously, what a wacko.

More recently, packing to house sit for the week, I needed less jewelry and I was kind of in a rush. So, this time I stuck my assorted jewelry into one of those plastic travel soap holders because it was the first thing I could find.

And yes, I still keep my Bare Minerals makeup in the original box that the starter kit came in.

I asked Bryce to take pictures of her L.L. Bean jewlery travel organizer and send them to me because I think it is amazing and I wanted to display it here. She kindly obliged…

Look at how indestructable it is. Also, it opens on both sides…

I also like it because it has separate sections and it closes tightly so that your jewlery isn’t moving around too much when you travel. This is on my list when I get my next paycheck.

You can go to the L.L. Bean site to purchase it. It is only $24.50. and it comes in both black and brown.

Responses

  1. im the same way with my jewelry! especially my necklaces. for the longest time they would always go getting all tangled up and drive me nutty. then my friend got me one of these: http://www.foryouforhome.com/NecklaceHanger.html – i just took off the outer plastic thingy, because that looks kind of tacky to me.

    here’s another cool one-
    http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp;jsessionid=73F441EF82914A7AA865F9F9C717C18B.app11-node5?itemdescription=true&itemCount=60&id=15048820&parentid=A_FURN_PRETTY&sortProperties=&navCount=105&navAction=poppushpush&color=

    geeze, sorry that link is forever long!

  2. ugh! you should see my bathroom sink. i think if i ask glenn to de-tangle one more necklace he may divorce me.

  3. Oooh good ideas! I love the idea of using the little bags the extra buttons come in…I always just throw them away.

    And that LL Bean container is perfect!

    You don’t even want to see what my jewelry looks like. This morning, I spent a good 5 mins. untangling my necklace. And I can never find 2 matching earrings!! So yeah, I need this stuff at home too; not just traveling!

  4. Good idea! MY jewelry is always in the worst state by the time I get somewhere!

  5. sometimes, you’re just too logical. i throw my stuff in a bag and then whine for at least an hour when i can’t untangle it.

  6. (that was a compliment while laughing at myself. i don’t think wordpress notes sarcasm. =))

  7. @ brookem thanks for those sites, I need to get under control!

    @ eperry, hahah

    @ susie, I know it’s funny, I don’t even know why I kept them, but they came in handy

    @ Camels & Chocolate, me too- that’s why I don’t buy expensive jewelry, that’s what happens

    @ emrlds, haha oh I got it and also laughed out loud 🙂

  8. Yes… the travel jewelry container IS amazing! Although keep those button bag things because they are good for your chunky jewelry this container won’t fit (and they also make you look super cool…)

  9. I keep all my make-up in my bare minerals starter box too! I thought I was the only person who didn’t invest in some kind of organization system.

  10. […] I’m doing it. If you haven’t noticed, and I didn’t expect you to, the past two Tuesdays I made an attempt to focus on travel gear. As it was a success I made the decision to come […]

  11. […] you are looking to travel in style, stock up on necessities or find adorable organizers to prevent jewelry mishaps, this place is definitely worth a visit… 43 Brattle Street Cambridge, MA 01230 p.617-576-0900 […]

  12. […] you are looking to travel in style, stock up on necessities or find adorable organizers to prevent jewelry mishaps, this place is definitely worth a visit… 43 Brattle Street Cambridge, MA 01230 p.617-576-0900 […]

  13. […] doing it. If you haven’t noticed, and I didn’t expect you to, the past two Tuesdays I made an attempt to focus on travel gear. As it was a success I made the decision to come […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

