Posted by: sforshner | August 21, 2008

travel buzz out on the web

I recently got fantastic feedback that posting about some of the great travel deals/tips/ideas that I am already following out there on the web is actually useful. So here’s what I found this week:

Apartment Therapy…

…has a lot of travel advice recently. Earlier in the month they listed places to score travel deals online.

For flights they like Orbitz and Priceline. I think they are good too, but for some reason I always find myself going back to Kayak. At the end of the day, the cheaper ones always seem to pop up here, but that’s just me.

For hotels they like Hotwire, which is something I haven’t really checked out because I pretty much base my travel on whether or not I know a person who lives there so I can stay with them for free. On a side note – if you have a friend or relative in another city, make it a point to visit them, even if it isn’t on the top of your priority travel list- you can always find exciting new things about a place if you really look.

And, for general deals they went with one of my favorites: Travel Zoo. Ditto on that- I love getting their weekly emails of deals.

AT also highlighted 10 tips to travel greener. The hardest one for me is:

Try to refrain from taking all the free brochures and maps that you see when exploring tourist spots, only borow ones you really need.

I have a crazy obsession with collecting that stuff. I act like I am a queen scrap booker while on vacation, when in reality I have yet to finish my photo album from my visit to London back in 2004.

Christopher Elliot…

spread out some great advice over the web. On his blog he listed 4 ways to get even with the airlines. One thing I didn’t know is that airlines count the number of grievances about a particular fee…One way to underscore the seriousness of your complaint is to copy the Transportation Department, which compiles these grievances in a monthly report. Airlines pay attention to those numbers.

And on his MSNBC column he cited the fact that it’s the perfect time to book a trip. Why? Because a lot of Americans skipped their summer getaway, forcing nervous rental companies, hotels and restaurants to slash prices. Very good to know!

I did some sleuthing to get this one:

Green Your Decor…

…had some cool green tips and better buys and I found that CommonThreadz, a nonprofit that is working to stimulate global awareness and giving for philanthropic initiatives, organizes international trips throughout the year for volunteers to deliver school uniforms, school supplies and food to children in need while also providing much needed assistance at schools and orphanages during the volunteer trip. Their next trip will be to the KwaZulu-Natal region of South Africa in November of ’08.

And that’s the buzz

Responses

  1. I LOVE Chris Elliott! I emailed him with a travel conundrum the other day, and he wrote me back ASAP!

    For some reason, I always find the best deals on CheapTickets (don’t tell my friends who work at Travelocity!!!).

  2. I have a travel deal I’d like to give you. Hope it helps you. At the Hampton Inn where I work we’re having a super promotion on the room rates. Check it out.

    Hampton Inn is offering 10% of their best rate available until 9/1/08 we’re also giving away some great prizes leading up to the TEAM USA competing at the Olympic Games. Good Luck!!

    http://hamptoninn.hilton.com/en/hp/promotions/hx_summerpromo08/index.jhtml;jsessionid=SXEZ4FIZDCG4OCSGBJF2VCQ?it=specials,dreams&cid=om,hx,dreams,specials

    Sarah B

    P.S.

    Check out this funny video, called “Ballad of a Traveler”, it is hilarious. He totally sums up the travelers experience:

  3. Or another great deal, volunteering in Africa over Christmas? We are offering a 20% discount on all placements from October- December 2008 and you’re welcome to join us giving back!

    Check out this link for a great community project in Mozambique: http://www.africanimpact.com/volunteers/orphan-volunteering-mozambique/


Leave a Reply

Categories

