Posted by: sforshner | August 31, 2008

BlogDay 2008

I hadn’t hear of BlogDay until Free and Flawed posted about it the other day.

BlogDay was created with the belief that bloggers should have one day dedicated to getting to know other bloggers from other countries and areas of interest. On that day Bloggers will recommend other blogs to their blog visitors.  On this day Bloggers will recommend other blogs to their blog visitors. With the goal in mind, on this day every blogger will post a recommendation of 5 new blogs. Here are additional instructions.

BlogDay posting instructions:

  1. Find 5 new Blogs that you find interesting
  2. Notify the 5 bloggers that you are recommending them as part of BlogDay 2008
  3. Write a short description of the Blogs and place a link to the recommended Blogs
  4. Post the BlogDay Post (on August 31st) and
  5. Add the BlogDay tag using this link: 
    http://technorati.com/tag/BlogDay2008 and a link to the BlogDay web site at http://www.blogday.org

So here it goes:

1. Tim’s El Salvador Blog 

Self described as “a place for looking at what’s going on in El Salvador,” that pretty much sums it up.

As a future tourist here, I found his post on Conde Nast Traveler’s article covering tourism in countries recovering from wars, particularly interesting. I found it when I searched “El Salvador” in google blog search.

2. DanLeach.co.uk 

This is a blog covering PR, marketing, technology and new media.

I found it when I searched BlogDay 2008 in google blog search, wanting to find out who else is participating. It popped out at me because as our world shrinks and as social media continues to impact my profession, I think it will be interesting to follow his insight from across the pond.

3. Two Girls Go Green

I found this under the Blogher Green and Eco-conscious directory. This blog takes you through these two girls’ adventures of getting eco-friendlier. With all the green blogs out there, they definitely have their work cut out for them, but I think this blog is unique because it really speaks to the person trying to become more eco-conscious, from scratch, from first hand experience.

4. Oh Look, Krill!: “Oh don’t worry. Whales don’t eat clownfish. They eat krill.”

In an effort to branch out, I found this blog by going to Twenty Something Bloggers to look for a group in which I am not a part and found Blogging Asia. I am in love with the name of the blog, which probably isn’t a surpriseHere, Mintea from Singapore tracks her random thoughts on music, movies, books, etc. She has a really direct and descriptive writing style making her blog really addicting. She also loves the Flight of the Conchords which in my book, makes it top notch.

5. The Ruck and Maul

Wes is behind this blog where he reports, results, news and information from the world of Rugby. In his bio he writes, what is so great about Rugby is the passion the fans share for the game. This fact is the exact reason why I am posting his blog – I love rugby, I am so glad I found this blog, I subscribed immediately and I can’t wait to continue following it.

Responses

  1. I’m happy you participated in Blog Day! Thanks for the link love 🙂

  2. hey! I included you in my BlogDay 2008 list and now I’m off to check out the ones your recommended 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

