Posted by: sforshner | September 18, 2008

i want to go out to eat

My wallet is loving my recent lack of restauranteering, but unfortunately my blog, to which I made a commitment to write about my culinary, transient travels each Thursday, is not. 

That being said, the wonderful publicists for Bella Luna came through for me and let me know about a new vegetarian dish on the menu – Eggplant Puttanesca. I can’t say that I’ve had it yet, but based on the great food that I sampled back at the Blogger Lounge event they hosted, I imagine it must be good. 

Either way, the great news is I will be able to try the dish without breaking my streak of saving money in lieu of going out to eat because they also supplied the recipe! I want to try to make the dish and then go to the restaurant to compare, though that might not be good for my ego…

Ingredients:

1 Large Eggplant

2 Cans Chick Peas

4 Ounces Ricotta Cheese

1 Red Pepper, Roasted, Peeled and Cleaned

10 Garlic Cloves, Roasted

1 Small Spanish Onion, Diced Small

10 Kalamatta Olives

2 T Capers

½ Can Artichoke Hearts, Quartered

2 T Chopped Garlic Cloves

Kosher Salt

Ground Fresh Pepper

1/3 Cup Grated Parmesan

½ Cup Burgundy Wine

1 Cup Basil Marinara

2 T Chopped Rosemary

2 T Chopped Fresh Thyme

2 T Fresh Squeezed Lemon Juice

4 T Olive Oil

2 Cups Baby Arugula

Step 1- Combine chick peas, roasted red peppers, ricotta cheese, roasted garlic, lemon juice, kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper into food processor and pulse until smooth consistency is reached.

Step 2- Cut eggplant into 4 equal size cylinders and lay flat on your cutting board. Now take a paring knife and slightly hollow out the center being careful not take to much of the center out and not going all the way through.      

Step 3- Pre-heat your over to 375 degrees. Next take chick pea mixture and spoon generously into hollowed out eggplant sections. Now grease a baking pan with a little olive oil and lay eggplant filling side up on it. Bake at 375 degrees for 30- 40 minutes or until soft to the touch.

Step 4- Put a large sauté pan over medium high heat. Next add 2 T olive oil, diced onions, chopped garlic, kalamatta olives, capers and quartered artichoke hearts. Sautee for about 10 minutes or until onions start to turn a golden color. Deglaze by adding burgundy wine, basic marinara, fresh herbs, and fresh squeezed lemon juice and continue cooking for 10 minutes. Finish seasoning with salt and pepper.

Step 5- For presentation serve on a large square plate if you have it but any large plate will do. Spread putensca sauce over the bottom of the four plates. Next top with Arugula and lastly set stuffed eggplant on top of the Arugula in the center of the plate. Finish by garnishing with grated parmesan cheese. 

____________________________________________

Speaking of good recipes – did you catch Susie & Chelsee’s live blogging on We are not Martha from their appearance on Martha Stewart yesterday? How exciting!

Responses

  1. Aww thanks 🙂 It was SO much fun!

    Mmmm, the food at Bella Luna was so much better than I imagined it would be. Let me know how the eggplant is…yours and theirs!

  2. wow that sounds delicious!

  3. what? you need to go out to eat, you say???

    let’s do it…i got a slew of places on my list that are dying to be subjected to entree-picture taking.

  4. ooh I love whore’s pasta though I never thought of using eggplant. I always wondered where it got its name; there are so many different versions. btw, just realized that you live in Natick. have you ever been to the charles river coffee co? best. muffins. ever.


Leave a Reply

Categories

