Posted by: sforshner | September 26, 2008

$1 million for 5 nonprofits

TripAdvisor is asking their readers how they should give away $1 Million, which will be divided among five worthy travel-related nonprofits. Readers can vote on which organization receives the largest share. The remaining organizations’ shares will be determined by vote as well, with each guaranteed a minimum of $50,000.

On its website, TripAdvisor writes, “Think of the $1 million as a pie. Each organization’s slice of that pie depends on how many votes it receives.” Voting runs through November 9.

Here are the choices:

Which one would you pick?
Responses

  1. My friend’s parents both work for Doctors without borders -it’s a pretty awesome organization

  2. While tempted to be a good geography teacher and vote on the Nat’l Geographic Society, I would have to say The Nature Conservancy (environmental protection). “Using science to solve complex conservation challenges, building collaborative partnerships to implement innovative solutions and working with local communities to achieve lasting, measurable results” is where its at.

  3. I would definitely say The Nature Conservancy because I feel like that’s sooo important right now. Um, I might say Save the Children, but those volunteers with clipboards who attack me every single day piss me off soo much. I know that’s not nice, but they need to stop harrassing!

  4. Definitely Save the Children.

  5. Save the Children would definitely get my vote. Followed closely by Doctors without borders… both seem like such great organizations!

  6. Definitely Save the Children, Doctors w/o Borders comes second.

  7. I’ve donated to The Nature Conservancy for many years now, so my vote would go there.

  8. Thanks for all of your comments! It’s really such a tough call- I wonder which orginazation typically gets the least amount of funding. I will keep my eye out for the results…

  9. […] Speaking of TripAdvisor, all votes for telling them how to give away $1 million must be received by 11:59 pm ET on November 9th, 2008. Here are the Official Rules. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

