Posted by: sforshner | September 30, 2008

travel gear tuesday: let’s get political

I have always been fascinated with bumper stickers, however I have always been hesitant to put them on my car. Despite the fact that I have been in a relationship with the same person for 9 years, I have a fear of making the commitment. It isn’t that I change my mind a lot, it’s just that I can’t commit to prioritizing the message that I want myself or my car, to convey. 

I have a tiny Irish flag on one of my back windows, but it is in a place where it could be easily removed – though I never plan on removing it, it’s just nice to know that I could. 

I drive a crappy Corolla (which I just found out has fluid leaking and will increasingly get louder until I fix it and I am scared to find out the cost), but even when I am just buying an air freshener that will potentially dangle from my rearview mirror on display for all to see, it takes me forever to pick one out. I think those little things say a lot about your personality – or I just need to get out of my head.

Mike just got his free Obama/Biden sticker the other day. While I am undoubtedly in the same political camp, when it comes to promoting that from a vehicle, I will probably end up leaving it up to him. 

Responses

  1. I applaud rocking the Obama promotion, but he should be careful:

    Slashed tires

    Although I imagine he’ll be safe in the Commonwealth.

  2. All the reasons you just noted are exactly why I’ll never get a tattoo!

  3. Just responding to your comment – if you’re interested in coming to the blogger meetup tomorrow but want more info or my phone # or anything, shoot me an email at arielleblogs@gmail.com. Hope you can make it!

  4. I have my sorority sticker on my car and whenever I get my Obama sticker I’m going to put that on there too– I had one before but some asshole pealed it off 😦

  5. I completely understand this. Whenever I see someone with a Kerry/Edwards or (even sadder) a Gore/Lieberman sticker, I just feel bad for them. You can’t take it off! I’d rather put up a sign or something else that I could take down later.


Leave a Reply

Categories

