Posted by: sforshner | October 6, 2008

portland: permission to blog

On our usual weekend getaways, my friends and I try to get to a place where at least some of us have never been. After Providence and Portsmouth, we finally reached a destination that was new to me – Portland, Maine.

On Saturday, we took a stroll around Old Port…

Did you know that a portion of the Berlin Wall resides here? 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes when I go out with my non blogger friends, I get a lot of, “you can’t blog that!” after taking a photo. The truth is, I rarely ever post pictures of people anyway – it really never crosses my mind.

But, this weekend was different. I actually got some, “You can blog that one!’ So this time, I will.

From left to right…

Leigh, Kim, Me, Lisa and Bryce

Don’t I have beautiful friends?

Portland has a pretty decent night life. Though you would never know it from people’s reactions after asking us where we were from.

     “We’re not from around here, we’re actually from Boston, ” we answered.
     “Really? Then what the heck are you doing in Portland,” they replied, disturbed.

I’ll tell you what we did. We played games of mammoth proportions. 

The Oasis has giant jenga and… 

Connect four!

It was so fun. Portland wasn’t just seaside and bars for us, however it is getting pretty late. So – my lazy, picture heavy and very late weekend recap will have to spill over into Thursday, when I blog about all the awesome food we ate too…

Responses

  1. OMG OMG OMG OMG, LOOOOOOVE Portland! Was there this time last year actually! Jealous!

  2. […] [Photo Credit: Transient Travels] […]

  3. those games are awesome!

  4. Nice pix! It’s been about 10 years since we’ve been up to Maine, and I’d love to go again. I’m looking forward to the food part of the blogging…love seafood 🙂

    I like doing photo-based blog posts. It’s a great way to share some photos I had leftover when I did a previous article, or photos that really only need a paragraph or two of caption with them. It’s also a good way to vary the look of a blog a bit so to get away from the “gray wall of type” look.

  5. Sounds like you girls had a fun weekend! The giant games look really fun! I’d love to try giant Jenga after a few drinks!

  6. […] We were so stuffed by the time we left here that I don’t know how we made it through the rest of the night – but we did. […]

  7. you and your girls really are stunners. it must be fun to have getaways with such a fun loving posse!

  8. I was in Portland, ME myself about a month ago and loved the waterfront area especially! I ended up at this great little restaurant called Verana (or something – I can’t remember cause I had a head cold at the time) for brunch and went crazy for these ricotta pancakes. Definitely a cool city to spend a day in!


Leave a Reply

Categories

